Compulsory Registration

Registration in the Land Registry is compulsory in the following cases

  1.        Land bought under the Land Purchase Acts
  2.        Land acquired after 1st January 1967 by a statutory authority
  3.        Certain transactions* in relation to property located in the counties and cities listed in the table below:
Compulsory Registration
Counties AffectedEffective date
Carlow Meath and Laois1 January 1970
Longford Westmeath and Roscommon1 April 2006
Clare, Kilkenny, Louth, Sligo, Wexford and Wicklow1 October 2008
Cavan, Donegal, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Leitrim, Limerick, Mayo, Monaghan, North Tipperary, Offaly, South Tipperary and Waterford1 January 2010
Cork and Dublin1 June 2011
Cities affectedEffective date
Galway, Limerick and Waterford [as defined in Section 10 of the Local Government Act 2001]1 January 2010
Cork and Dublin1 June 2011

*in the case of freehold land – conveyance on sale

*in the case of leasehold land – grant or assignment on sale